Kendriya Sahitya Akademi Award for Hrushikesh

Bhubaneswar: Three Odisha literati have been selected for the 2021 Kendriya Sahitya Akademi Prize.

Poet Hrushikesh Mallick will receive the award for his book ‘Sarijaithiba Opera’.

The other two who have been honored are Digaraj Brahma and Debabrata Das.

While Brahma will receive the Bal Sahitya Puraskar (Odia) for his book ‘Geeta Kahe Matir Katha’, Das will be honored with the Yuva Puraskar 2021 (Odia) for his book ‘Sparsha O Anya Galpa’, respectively.

Recently, Mallick was appointed president of the Odisha Sahitya Akademi. He has edited Dharitri’s Sahityayana literary supplement since 2014. Mallick’s work has won him praise and appreciation from all quarters.

Mallick is a pioneer in writing Odia poetry. He has 40 books to his credit. Of these, while 12 books are on poetry, two are collections of stories and 10 are on literary criticism. His poems have been translated into English, Hindi and Bengali.

Mallick has received several state level awards like Odisha Sahitya Akademi Puraskar, Dharitri Kabita Puraskar, Bhanujirao Rao Smruti Puraskar, Sarala Award, Jhankar Bishuba Puraskar and Sachi Routrya Kabita Puraskar.

Between 1976 and 1980, Mallick was in charge of writing the Sunday supplement to the daily Odia Dharitri.


Previous What is a quick personal loan and how do I get one?
Next Home Movies