Ruskin Bond, Vinod Kumar Shukla and six others nominated for Sahitya Akademi scholarship

Prominent English writer Ruskin Bond, Hindi writer Vinod Kumar Shukla and six others were shortlisted for the Sahitya Akademi scholarship on Saturday.

The National Academy of Letters said in a statement that the Sahitya Akademi General Council, which met under the chairmanship of its president, Dr Chandrashekhar Kambar, announced its highest honor, the scholarship. The others who received the scholarship are Sirshendu Mukhopadhyay (Bengali), M Leelavathy (Malayalam), Dr Bhalchandra Nemade (Marathi), Dr Tejwant Singh Gill (Punjabi), Swami Rambhadracharya (Sanskrit), Indira Parthasarthy (Tamil).

Bond, who has written over 300 short stories, essays and novels and over 30 children’s books in addition to several other works, is the recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award, Bal Sahitya Puraskar, Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan of Sahitya Akademi, among others. prestigious award.

With 20 published books including collections of poetry, novels and short stories to his credit, Shukla is a member of the Sahitya Akademi General Council. He is also the recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award, Shikhar Samman from Government of Madhya Pradesh, Hindi Gaurav Samman, Raja Puraskar, Rashtriya Maithilisharan Gupta Samman, among others.

Mukhopadhyay, who is a great Bengali novelist and short story writer, started his career as a teacher and then moved on to productive journalistic writing. He is the recipient of the Sahitya Akademi, Ananda Puraskar, Vidyasagar Puraskar, Saratchandra Media and Bhaulka Puraskar awards. A prominent Malayalam writer, literary critic and educator, Leelavathy has over 60 published books to her credit, including books on literary criticism, essays and translations.

Leelavathy has won many prestigious awards and accolades such as the Padma Shri, Sahitya Akademi Award, Kerala Sahitya Academy Award, Vallathol Award, Basheer Award, Ezhuthachan Purakaram and Guptan Nair Memorial Award. Marathi author Nemade has published some fifteen books which have won him accolades such as the Padma Shri, the Sahitya Akademi Prize, the Jnanpith Prize, the HN Apte Prize, the Yashwantrao Chavan Prize and the RS Joag Prize.

Gill, a prominent Punjabi writer and scholar, has written 25 books and translated Punjabi poetry, drama and fiction into English and Garcia Marquez’s “One Hundred Years of Solitude” into Punjabi. Prominent spiritual leader and Sanskrit scholar, Rambhadracharya has received numerous awards including five gold medals at the All India Sanskrit Conference, Sahitya Akademi Award, Vishishta Puraskar, President’s Certificate of Honor, Vachaspati Award, Tulasi Award and the Dev Bhumi Prize. among others.

Tamil writer and scholar Parthasarathy has over 40 published books to his credit, including plays, novels, a short story collection, and short story anthologies. He is also a recipient of Sahitya Akademi, Padma Shri, Saraswati Samman Award, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award, Tamil Nadu Government Award, Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad Award, among others.

Previous "Winds of Winter" Theory Fixes Game of Thrones' Most Disappointing Villain
Next Banks fight back, but returns remain strong with fintech